Accelerated Reading Information

AR Goal:

AR is a combined at home and school reading incentive program. It is a way to hold students accountable for the reading they do at school and at home through comprehension quizzes.

What is AR?

Every AR quiz your child takes will earn them points based on the level of the book they are reading. The points add up to help your child reach their AR point goal.

Important Dates:

September 1st. The kick-off of the 2018-2019 A.R. program: "Reading Can Take You Places"

Accelerated Reader 2017-2018

AR Goals

1st-5th graders have different goal levels in the Accelerated Reader program.


1st- Name on the AR wall in the library

2nd- Spirit Stick at Spirit Rally

3rd- Free Book in the Library

4th- Spirit Stick at Spirit Rally

5th- Treasure Chest in Library

6th - Spirit Stick at Spirit Rally & End of Year activity

End of the Year:

The two students with the most points from each grade level will go to a movie with Christy Flores and Karen Gayden.

When Can My Student Take AR Tests?

In the classroom and the Library. The library is open Monday - Friday for AR tests from 8:15-8:45 am and 3:10-3:30 pm.

Helpful Hints:

  • Your student will be more successful when he/she reads books at their level. AR quizzes are designed to test reading comprehension if your student doesn't understand what they read they will have a hard time with the AR quiz.
  • Encourage your student to take a quiz soon after they finish the book. The longer they wait, the less they will remember from the book.
  • Beginning readers may have to read a book more than once to help them be successful on the AR quiz.

Color Chart in the Library

This is the color-coded system we will be using in the library to help your student
easily locate books in his/her reading level.

Level 1.0 -1.5 Yellow

Level 1.6 - 2.0 Black

Level 2.1 - 2.5 Purple

Level 2.6 - 3.0 Grey

Level 3.1 - 3.5 Green

Level 3.6 - 4.0 Pink

Level 4.1 -4.5 Blue

Level 4.6 - 5.0 Brown

Level 5.1 - 5.5 Orange

Level 5.6 - 6.0 Green

Level 6.1 - 6.5 Teal

Level 6.6 - 7.0 Rose

Level 7.1 - 12.0 Red